Medal of Honor Award

The New Jersey State Bar Foundation’s Medal of Honor Award is given annually to lawyers and law-related professionals, as well as lay people, who best exemplify either or both of the following criteria:

  • significant contribution to the advancement or improvement of the justice system or the betterment of the legal profession in New Jersey
  • professional excellence as demonstrated by accomplishments in the law; or service to the profession and the community during their careers.

Nominations for this prestigious award are sought in the fall, with a deadline of submission sometime in January or February. Check the website for more information or contact Cynthia Pellegrino at 732-937-7507 or via email at [email protected]

Check out photos from the 2017 Medal of Honor Awards Dinner held at The Palace at Somerset Park on September 18, 2017.

2017 Medal of Honor Honorees Inspire Audience

MOH Honorees

2017 Medal of Honor Recipients

On September 18, the New Jersey State Bar Foundation hosted the 2017 Medal of Honor Awards Dinner at The Palace at Somerset Park. Over 300 guests paid tribute to the recipients of the Foundation’s highest and most prestigious award, the Honorable Marie White Bell (Ret.) and Joseph P. LaSala Esq.

Judge Bell addressed the audience and saluted her many colleagues and friends and related why after 12 years as a scientist specializing in parasitology and virology research she launched her second career in the law in response to the civil rights movement. The 81-year old Bell urged the audience to advance and cherish the principles of freedom and protection of the rights of all people.

Mr. LaSala graciously pointed to the accomplishments of Judge Bell and also spoke about the Bar Foundation’s mission. He encouraged others to follow in the footsteps of Judge Bell and past Medal of Honor recipients by serving the community and the bar. Mr. LaSala stated, when presented with the award, “I will cherish this til the end of my life…you have made my family and me very happy.”


Thank You to Our 2017 Medal of Honor Awards Dinner Sponsors

Awards Dinner Sponsors

Marino, Tortorella & Boyle PC
McCarter & English LLP

Wine Pull Raffle Sponsor

Szaferman, Lakind, Blumstein & Blader, P.C.

Legal Eagles

Gibbons PC
Newsome O’Donnell, LLC
O’Toole Scrivo Fernandez Weiner Van Lieu LLC
RVM Enterprises, Inc.

Leadership Sponsors

Chasan Lamparello Mallon & Cappuzzo, PC
Chiesa, Shahinian & Giantomasi PC
Cole Schotz P.C.
Graham Curtin PA
Kessler Topaz Meltzer and Check LLP
Lite DePalma Greenberg LLC
Schulman Wiegmann & Associates
Wiss & Co.

WithumSmith + Brown

Past Medal of Honor Recipients

1988—Vincent J. Apruzzese, Esq.
1988—Matthias D. Dileo, Esq.
1989—Hon. Richard J. Hughes
1990—Hon. Stanley S. Brotman
1991—Daniel L. Golden, Esq.
1991—Joseph M. Nolan, Esq.
1992—Fred W. Friendly
1992—Melville D. Miller Jr., Esq.
1993—Hon. John F. Gerry
1993—James O’Brien
1994—Dean Ronald J. Riccio
1994—Miriam L. Murphy
1995—Hon. John J. Gibbons
1995—Lois A. Winnberg
1996—Hon. Samuel G. DeSimone
1996—Paulette Brown, Esq.
1997—Murray L. Cole, Esq.
1997—Walter N. Read, Esq.
1998—James Youngelson, Esq.
1998—Alan I. Gould, Esq.

1999—Hon. Joseph L. Rodriguez
1999—Thomas F. Campion, Esq.
2000—Hon. Marilyn Loftus
2000—James McCloskey
2001—Hon. Marie Garibaldi
2001—Raymond R. Trombadore, Esq.
2002—Raymond A. Brown, Esq.
2002—Joseph H. Kenney, Esq.
2002—Nancy Erika Smith, Esq.*
2002—Raymond A. Noble, Esq.*
2003—Justice James H. Coleman Jr.
2003—Saul A. Wolfe, Esq.
2004—Hon. Sylvia Pressler
2004—William John Kane, Esq.
2005—Hon. Anne E. Thompson
2005—Joel A. Leyner, Esq.
2006—Hon. Martin L. Haines
2006—Professor Paula A. Franzese
2007—Hon. Daniel J. O’Hern
2007—Thomas R. Curtin, Esq.

2008—Hon. William A. Dreier
2008—Hon. Stewart G. Pollock
2009—William S. Greenberg, Esq.
2009—David E. Johnson Jr., Esq.
2010—Hon. James R. Zazzali
2010—Hon. Renee J. Weeks
2011—Hon. L. Anthony Gibson
2011—Cynthia M. Jacob, Esq.
2012—Hon. John E. Wallace Jr.
2012—David H. Dugan III, Esq.
2013—Richard J. Badolato, Esq.
2013—Michael R. Griffinger, Esq.
2014—Hon. Helen E. Hoens
2014—Raymond S. Londa, Esq.
2015—Hon. Edwin H. Stern
2015—Hon. Lawrence M. Lawson
2016—Hon. Peter G. Verniero
2016—Wayne J. Positan
2017—Hon. Marie White Bell
2017—Joseph P. LaSala, Esq.

*In recognition of the generous contributions of the legal community on behalf of the victims of 9/11.